1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Weird rule

Discussion in 'General NFL Talk' started by bleednblackngold, Nov 23, 2020.

  1. bleednblackngold

    bleednblackngold Well-Known Member

    2,276
    438
    Oct 25, 2015
    If anyone is watching MNF tonight there was an odd play where Brady threw 2 forward passes on the same play after catching his 1st batted pass. It was complete, but obviously that's illegal.

    The Rams though had to decline the penalty to avoid giving them the down over, so the completion counted.

    How can that penalty not include loss of down? There should be no way to advance the ball on a pass you're not allowed to throw!

    It ended up being a nothing play in this game, but the rule makes no sense. Imagine if they'd gotten the 1st down. Rams would have had to take penalty of 5 yards and Tampa would essentially get a do over with only 5 yards penalty. They're rewarding them for doing something illegal.

    At first I thought refs called it wrong, but they were correct. Only an illegal forward pass beyond the LOS carries loss of down.
     
  2. 86WardsWay

    86WardsWay Well-Known Member

    12,980
    2,956
    Dec 27, 2012
    I saw that too and was scratching my head. That rule was not thought out very well. I couldn't believe how quickly Brady shot putted that pass for a completion though.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Marvology

    Marvology Well-Known Member

    581
    173
    Dec 10, 2019
    Same, noticed this as well. I don't get how the offense doing something prohibited by the rules means the defense has to decline or accept the result. Should have been an instant whistle.
     

Share This Page

Welcome to the ultimate resource for Steelers fans. Sign Up Here!