1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Goaline Offense

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by Da Stellars, Dec 28, 2020.

1. Da Stellars

Da Stellars Well-Known Member

Oct 22, 2011
    I wish Steelers had more creativity when they get down near the goaline in the redzone.

Romo said it himself ... that Claypool should be singled out for a fade often. I would add JuJu and Washington are combat catchers that could do this as well.

There isn't anything else we can do, like fake Vance on a block and have him sneak out on a route? Or sneak a RB on a route?

Also, trying to run out of shotgun on goaline is painful to watch. Can they do something to speed that up, like the Pistol or Diamond formation? IDK. I'm not an expert.

2. jamie

jamie Well-Known Member

Nov 15, 2015
    I actually cringe when we get in the red zone, because we can’t play smash mouth football. So I think use your athletes speed and size, nope not us. Also I will say this for the last time, Snell is not a short yardage inside the tackle runner, it almost looks like he runs with his eyes closed, no elusiveness. Conner is the only short yardage back we have, he can make a yard after contact.

• Agree Agree x 1
  3. JAD

JAD Well-Known Member

Jan 2, 2012
    You are so right about Snell, I was yelling to get him and Samuels out of the game and leave Conner in. Snell dosen't seem to hit the small opening that there is. Conner is more illusive. Tomlin and others were all week praising Snell and they kept using him way too much, he had what 4 or 5 tries with 0 yards and even loosing yards. Also McFarland would be better choice then Samuels for change of pace back.

4. Steel Hog

Steel Hog Well-Known Member

Dec 6, 2017
    This is one of those areas where we never seem to do things differently or change something whatsoever. I just have to wonder why? Maybe they have a stash of plays they are keeping secret for the PO's. You never know with this team.