1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Mason Cole - center - review signing

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by Mashburn, Mar 14, 2022.

1. Mashburn

Mashburn Well-Known Member

Apr 30, 2021
  2. Mashburn

Apr 30, 2021
    Mason Cole Is Suddenly A Stud

When the Minnesota Vikings traded a 6th-Round draft pick for Mason Cole last spring, folks spitballed whether he’d play right guard, replace Garrett Bradbury at center, or merely fill a reservist role on the team’s offensive line.

Cole is a center by trade, but the Vikings adore moving offensive linemen from their organic positions. So, fans tangibly believed Cole would replace Dakota Dozier at right guard, who started most of 2020 and struggled. Cole ultimately did not move to guard, but Dozier wasn’t re-upped as starting right guard either. That title was awarded to Oli Udoh, a player who started the season strong but soon devolved into penalties and reduced production.

Lo and behold, Cole emerged as the Vikings starting center.

Bradbury was in charge of the position for 2.5 seasons, losing his job — evidently — to Cole after Bradbury spent time on the COVID reserve list. Through some serendipity, Minnesota’s coaching staff learned Cole just might be a better center than Bradbury.

The numbers — at least through a few games — confirm it.

Suddenly, Cole is the Vikings top-graded offensive lineman, scoring a 71.8 per Pro Football Focus grade. And somehow, that tops right tackle Brian O’Neill’s score, which is 70.9 through 11 games. PFF is not without faults, but generally speaking, it serves as a reasonable indicator of player performance. For example, though, not a single Vikings fan around the globe would proclaim Cole a better football player than O’Neill.