1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

VR Help

Discussion in 'The Watercooler' started by jeh1856, Jan 8, 2017.

1. jeh1856

jeh1856 Beer is good

Oct 26, 2011
    I'm thinking of buying a VR setup for my wife for next Christmas and just saw a Sunday morning show on virtual reality sets. This looked pretty cool, and I'm running out of things to buy her. Years ago she said no more jewelry.

I'm not very tech savvy, so I have no idea what I'm doing. I'm not on facebook, twitter, etc. I have never played a video game on anything since PacMan. I do have a 4 year old laptop and an iPhone5. I'm an old dog but willing to learn new tricks. I do spend a lot of time doing research on the net.

We probably wouldn't play games. Going to the bottom of the ocean, tops of mountains or space would probably be our type of thing.

I'm not saying money is no object, but if I do this, I'm doing it atleast to the level of "very good" or better.

I'll wait until Christmas to buy this because technology will be better. But, for now I'd like to know what direction to aim my research?

Any suggestions or advice? Thank you.

2. blountforcetrauma

blountforcetrauma Well-Known Member

Oct 23, 2011
    I'm a lifelong, hardcore, gamer and I honestly think VR is way overrated personally. I've not actually experienced it from the new tech that's out but I can tell you that I've seen some game journalists do it and they've said that some of it is awesome and very convincing. What they were using was the Sony one. I would make a joke about Virtua Boy but I know you wouldn't have a clue what I was talking about. LOL!

3. TerribleTowelFlying

TerribleTowelFlying Staff Member Site Admin Mod Team

Oct 12, 2011