1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Smartphones

Discussion in 'The Watercooler' started by SteelCity_NB, Mar 25, 2019.

1. SteelCity_NB

SteelCity_NB Staff Member Mod Team

Oct 23, 2011
    Just curious as to what everyone uses here for their phones.

I had been using a Samsung Galaxy S5 since 2014. I loved that phone. It was pretty minimalistic by today's standards but did everything I needed it to quite well.

I'm not someone who plays games on my phone and I've never taken a self in my life. But as far as basic app's, texting and Web browsing, it was a great phone.

However, the updates had stopped for it which made it difficult to use for some brand new apps.

So when I was looking at getting a new phone it was essentially between the Galaxy S9 and the Google Pixel 3.

If you're wondering why I didn't consider an IPhone it's basically because I don't like Apple. I don't own any apple products. Ever. Just never liked the ios interface and always felt like everything was over priced.

So when I picked out a new phone last week,,even though my heart and my brain thought the Samsung S9 was the better phone, my wallet steered me towards the Pixel 3 as they had an offer for $250 off so I bought it outright as I hate getting locked into contracts.

The Pixel 3 is a pretty minimalistic phone too. It's major selling feature is the camera. While I doubt I will ever use the self camera still,I am looking forward to using this great camera a lot. The camera was a bit of a weakness on my old S5.

I was just curious what everyone else out there uses. I know a tonne of people who have corporate phones for their job and 10/10 it always seemed to be an iPhone.

2. SteelinOhio

SteelinOhio

Oct 16, 2011
    I'd had an iPhone 4s and an iPhone 5s previously. My iPhone 5s battery got to the point that it wasn't lasting more than a few hours, so I finally bought a new phone on Black Friday.