1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Salary Cap Talk

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by NY STEELERFAN, Feb 23, 2017.

1. NY STEELERFAN

NY STEELERFAN Well-Known Member

Dec 10, 2012
    I am no cap expert but I do some reading and I stayed at a Holiday Inn Express once.......ok with that said I thought I would talk about the cap and get people thoughts and facts on it.

First off it has bee said the cap is expected to be some where in the 165-170 mil range. Over the cap has it at 171 mil so I will use that as a base. Right now we have 36 mil of space......yeah 36 mil, wow when was the last time we were this good with the cap? Yeah I know we have a lot to do but really the more I look at out cap the more I like the chance we have the money to make moves.

I was worried that with taking care of Bell and AB that would eat half our space but no that is not the case. Not sure what is gonna happen with Bell but let's say they tag him, so there is 12 mil ish. That brings me to AB where I was worried his raise/restructure would hurt us. Well after looking at his cap number for this year(13.6 mil) I think it will help us or pretty much keep it close to the same. He is looking at some where in the 15 mil ranges but with signing bonus it could bring the avg per year down a bit, but still what are we talking 2-3 mil a year more, ok so between Bell and AB that's like 14-15 mil still 25 mil lets.

Maybe we give AV 4 mil, JH 2-4 mil, 5 mill for rookie class, and a decision has to be made on Timmons. I am going to say we give him 5 mil, so that right there puts us at around 13 mil of cap space. Still pretty good to get 2 mid range FA's, imo.