1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Ben's injury vs. Cutler's

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by Cbus Steelers, Nov 21, 2011.

1. Cbus Steelers

Cbus Steelers Well-Known Member

Oct 25, 2011
    How similar are these injuries, anyone know? I know they both have broken thumbs on their throwing hands, but I'm not a medical expert to know if there can be significant differences in thumb fractures.

Cutler elected to have the surgery and Ben is obviously playing through it. Should we be worried that Ben will be ineffective and then have to have the surgery and miss the rest of the regular season like Cutler? Obviously Ben is 100x tougher than Cutler, but just seeing what you guys think...

2. Ray D

Ray D Staff Member Mod Team

Oct 18, 2011
    There's no definitive info on either injury. But one can speculate.

Ben likely has a hairline fracture in one of the bones. Cutler's was broken completely, maybe even in several places. If he needs surgery, they need to bind the bones together so they can heal. A simple splint or cast won't do.

Ben only needs a splint, so it's not as severe.

3. bigsteelerfaninky

bigsteelerfaninky Well-Known Member

Oct 24, 2011
    Or at least that's what the bears are saying

4. KnoxVegasSteel

KnoxVegasSteel Well-Known Member

Oct 21, 2011
    Cutler injured his vagina, Ben fractured the thumb.

5. truckin9999

truckin9999 Well-Known Member

Oct 16, 2011
    Just something to keep in mind..Cutler is a diabetic and the healing process is much slower for diabetics. Cutler has to check his blood sugar up to 20 times during a game, and sometimes has to take an insulin shot during the game.

6. Ray D

Ray D Staff Member Mod Team

Oct 18, 2011
    Wow. Something I did not know. He's not the only (or first) diabetic to play, but I had never heard of his diabetes before. That does weigh in on his healing.

I know it's fun to mock Cutler for being a pansy. I just don't see it in this case.