1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Overturned sideline catch?

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by Stone, Oct 12, 2020.

  1. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member

    3,688
    546
    Oct 23, 2015
    Does anyone have the footage of the overturned catch by Claypool? I was interrupted for a second but I swear he got both feet down "clearly" because he rolled his foot over the defenders foot and tapped his toe?

    I came back and saw that it was overturned?
     
  2. doubleyoi

    doubleyoi

    7,280
    1,528
    Apr 26, 2012
    the second foot came down on the defender and he was touching out of bounds.

     
  3. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member

    3,688
    546
    Oct 23, 2015
    Man, if the call was overturned because Claypools toe touched at the same time the defenders knee touched out of bounds.....which is what it looks like.....that is still a bad overturn.

    I just watched it in slo-mo and Claypools hand touched out of bounds just before his toe touched.
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2020
  4. AskQuestionsLater

    AskQuestionsLater Writing Team

    24,115
    6,139
    Apr 21, 2016

    Yep.



    Ron Torbert has had some real stinkers thus far this season. Yesterday's game was by far his worst.
     
  5. jeh1856

    jeh1856 Im a happy camper

    33,557
    11,948
    Oct 26, 2011
    It was a good call.

    his second foot never touched the ground until he was out of bounds. I rewatched it a bunch then listened to the explanation by the official type guest.
     
  6. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member

    3,688
    546
    Oct 23, 2015
    Yeah, it wasn't that his foot came down on the defender when the defender was out because that happened almost simultaneously, it was that his hand touched out of bounds just before his toe touched.
     
  7. strummerfan

    strummerfan Well-Known Member

    18,196
    3,678
    May 9, 2012
    exactly. Sucks, but they got it right this time
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. SteelinOhio

    SteelinOhio

    5,847
    1,550
    Oct 16, 2011
    Yeah, it was the right call for sure, unfortunately. I was actually surprised that it was originally ruled as a catch.
     
  9. JAD

    JAD Well-Known Member

    3,425
    384
    Jan 2, 2012
    This was the right call, BUT the offensive pass interference call on Claypool was horrible, he barley touched the defender if he even did touch him. That would of been his 5th touchdown.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  10. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member

    3,688
    546
    Oct 23, 2015
    Horrible call but I think he stepped out right after the catch?
     
  11. jeh1856

    jeh1856 Im a happy camper

    33,557
    11,948
    Oct 26, 2011
    Looked like it
     
  12. The Glory Days

    The Glory Days Well-Known Member

    2,766
    576
    Oct 8, 2017
    Even if he did, it was a 30 yard-ish completion at that point. Instead, 2 plays later, Ebron fumbles. I would have been fine with him stepping out of bounds, considering the alternative.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
  13. Stone

    Stone Well-Known Member

    3,688
    546
    Oct 23, 2015
    I am often amazed at how these guys can concentrate so deeply on multiple things at once.

    1. Making an extremely difficult catch.
    2. Holding on to the ball.
    3. Getting both feet in bounds.
    4. Turning that toe to make it touch the ground.
    Utterly fascinating!
     
  14. The Glory Days

    The Glory Days Well-Known Member

    2,766
    576
    Oct 8, 2017
    Easy...they just think about our 4-0 record, close their eyes, and it all works out. :hehehe:

    That's what @steelersrule6@steelersrule6 does just before he gets lucky with himself.
     
  15. Formerscribe

    Formerscribe Well-Known Member

    25,782
    4,237
    Dec 18, 2016
    He stepped out of bounds. It wasn't going to be a touchdown. Also, it would have been his fourth score at that point.

    That said, it was a horrible call.

    The funny thing to me about Claypool's sideline catch that was overturned was that I was convinced it should be an incomplete pass as soon as I saw a replay. My brother, an Eagles fan, thought it should remain a catch.
     
  16. JAD

    JAD Well-Known Member

    3,425
    384
    Jan 2, 2012
    Really wasn't looking if he stepped out of bounds after the catch, that said if surly was a horrible call. I don't know how a ref can make that call. The defender fell down on his own without any contact that I could see.
     

Share This Page

Welcome to the ultimate resource for Steelers fans. Sign Up Here!