1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

A deeper look at Tomlin

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by Stone, Mar 1, 2020.

1. Stone

Stone Well-Known Member

Oct 23, 2015
    Tomlin is a polarizing subject and we see opinions that range from him being a candidate for the HOF to him being a useless bum.

Some people love that he always has the Steelers competitive, maybe not at a Steeler level but, compared to the rest of the league.

Some people hate that he has missed the playoffs, or been out-coached once he got there, far too often.

Although I tend to be on the band-wagon of the latter, I know he would be hired instantly should the Steelers fire him and I also know that we could end up getting something worse, especially given the blasé attitude of Art II.

BUT WHAT DO WE REALLY HAVE TO COMPARE HIM TO?

Here is the one thing I thought we might discuss when we talk about his accomplishments or lack thereof.

Although I am a student of the NFL to a small degree, I certainly can’t claim to be the least bit certain of this ……but……… to my recollection, I can’t think of any coach in modern football that has been given as much as Tomlin has. Barry Switzer was given a similar thing in Dallas, he won the SB with Jimmy Johnson’s team, much like Tomlin won it with Cowher’s team, and then he moved on.

Can anyone think of a coach in the recent history of the NFL who was given a SB caliber team and then also given such extreme talent like Tomlin has? If so, let’s compare what they did with it.

2. Steel Hog

Steel Hog Well-Known Member

Dec 6, 2017