1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryan Shazier 2018

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by brosonke, Feb 28, 2018.

1. brosonke

brosonke Well-Known Member

Jan 29, 2018
  2. Ratkomladic

Ratkomladic Well-Known Member

Oct 6, 2013
    Will We pay Him 8.7 millions for not playing????? Will he ever play a snap again??? I mean Right now he cant walk..

3. JackAttack 5958

JackAttack 5958 Well-Known Member

Oct 18, 2011
    Let's not kid ourselves, Ryan Shazier will never play competitive football again. I think a few of us are reluctant to say that but that's a fact. This is too devastating an injury to come back from. And before anyone asks, no, I'm not a doctor and I didn't stay at a HI Express last night. But I am a realist and the guy has done significant damage to his spine. Shazier is not ready to admit this because he is a ferocious competitor. I admire that immensely but his playing days are over, folks. It's sad, but unfortunately true.

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Dislike Dislike x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  4. steel1031

steel1031 Well-Known Member

Oct 16, 2011
    I havent read alot about it but what exactly did he do to it. I mean are there long term effects? I ask becuase i have heard some say playing again is an option. I personally wouldnt consider it but i am far from an elite level athlete

5. Go 'lers

Go 'lers Well-Known Member

Sep 1, 2015
    It's a shame but not a surprise. I personally thought right after that game that he wouldn't play again even after regaining movement in his legs. Not to mention the risk of further injury is too great. Spinal stabilization is a very delicate operation and you're told to talk extreme precautions for the rest of your life.

This isn't just advice for a football player, a doctor would tell anyone that activities as routine as biking or skiing can aggravate the repaired area or open someone up to greater damage.