1. Hi Guest, Registrations are now open. See you on the inside.
    Dismiss Notice

Question for all you rules geeks out there

Discussion in 'Steelers Talk' started by JackAttack 5958, Nov 19, 2012.

  1. JackAttack 5958

    JackAttack 5958 Well-Known Member

    13,091
    2,478
    Oct 18, 2011
    When Tomlin challenged the spot of the ball in the 4th quarter, would the Steelers have been charged a timeout if the new spot did not result in a first down? It was obvious that the officials got the spot wrong, but it was also still very close to not being a first down. So Tomlin was right either way, whether it resulted in a first down or not. The officials still got the spot wrong. Anybody know the rule on that?
     
  2. CanadianSteel

    CanadianSteel Well-Known Member

    4,087
    768
    Oct 24, 2011
    Pretty sure we lose the TO if the re-spot doesn't result in a first down... You can only challenge a spot if a first down is in question, so losing the TO would make sense.
     
  3. TerribleTowelFlying

    TerribleTowelFlying Staff Member Site Admin Mod Team

    23,300
    2,335
    Oct 12, 2011
    I believe (against what I traditionally thought) that if it doesn't turn out to be a first down, regardless of the spot being changed, the team is charged with a Timeout.
     
  4. FeartheBeard

    FeartheBeard Well-Known Member

    3,126
    586
    Oct 26, 2011
    I was thinking that he was challenging the spot of the ball and, since they got it wrong regardless if it was a first down, we wouldnt have lost a timeout.
     
  5. CanadianSteel

    CanadianSteel Well-Known Member

    4,087
    768
    Oct 24, 2011
    Thing is, I believe you can ONLY challenge a spot if the new spot results in a first down... You can't challenge a spot that would result in a 3rd and 2 instead of a 3rd and 3.
     
  6. FeartheBeard

    FeartheBeard Well-Known Member

    3,126
    586
    Oct 26, 2011
  7. SteelHack

    SteelHack Well-Known Member

    2,851
    817
    Oct 21, 2011
    You can challenge any spot....If they rule the spot it wrong...you keep the TO....if they rule the spot is right...you lose it....does not matter if it was or was not a first down.....You challenge the spot...refs say you are right...you still are short of the first down after they move the ball.....you still have your TO..

    You didn't challenge if it was a first down or not...you challenged if the spot of the ball was correct.

    HACK
     
  8. gpguy

    gpguy Well-Known Member

    3,481
    21
    Dec 19, 2011
    This is what I thought also. I've seen a few games over the years that this was the case.
     
  9. spleeny09

    spleeny09 Well-Known Member

    133
    17
    Oct 27, 2011
    I don't think this is true...if they alter the spot...I still think you have to be awarded the first down to save your timeout.
     
  10. spleeny09

    spleeny09 Well-Known Member

    133
    17
    Oct 27, 2011
    Not sure how accurate the source is...but looks like you have to gain the first down to keep your timeout...

    http://www.footballzebras.com/
     
  11. CanadianSteel

    CanadianSteel Well-Known Member

    4,087
    768
    Oct 24, 2011

    Yep, that's the way I thought it worked. :shrug:
     
  12. SteelHack

    SteelHack Well-Known Member

    2,851
    817
    Oct 21, 2011
    They are wrong.....Offensively they only challenge when a first down or TD is on the line....the reasons to challenge a 9 yard run on 1st down are few and far between.....but defensively you can also challenge the spot....makes no sense to punish the O for winning the challenge....yet on D you can say it was only a 5 yard pass and not a 40 yard catch and run....even if both resulted in a first down.

    EDIT: I guess my example was bad now that I think about it as that is challenging that the runner is down by contact etc...not spot of the ball.......spot of the ball is strictly where the refs put it...so maybe I am off on this thinking.

    HACK
     
  13. CanadianSteel

    CanadianSteel Well-Known Member

    4,087
    768
    Oct 24, 2011
    Anyone on twitter? Maybe tweet this question to Mike Pereira?

    Does a first down have to be in question for a ball spot to be challenged?
     

Share This Page

Welcome to the ultimate resource for Steelers fans. Sign Up Here!